The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology of the Federal Teaching Hospital, Ido Ekiti received the 4-man delegation from the West Africa College of Surgeons, for the purpose of re-accreditation on the 19th of September, 2022.

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology (O&G) of the hospital, is a medical speciality that encompasses the two sub-specialties of Obstetrics, covering pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period and Gynaecology, which covers the health of the female reproductive system and breasts.

While receiving the delegation of the re-accreditation team at the office of the Chief Medical Director, FETHI, the Head of the Department, Dr. Bakare explained that the visit was part of the fulfillment of the college to ensure that the standard of operations is upheld by the department for quality healthcare service delivery.

To further dwell on the purpose of the visit, the team lead of the delegation, Prof. Adesina Oladokun, pointed out that the visit was not a witch-hunt exercise, but rather an exercise to ensure quality control.

He further noted that the areas where the department is striving, will be appreciated with the view of encouraging them to do better.

In his remarks, the Chief Medical Director, Federal Teaching Hospital, Ido Ekiti, Prof. Adekunle Ajayi, welcomed the re-accreditation team to the hospital as he wished them a fulfilling tour.

Thereafter, the team were led across the various facilities of the institution by Dr. Bakare Adewunmi.

Prof. Adedokun, at the debriefing after the facility tour assessment having noted some observations that have to do with improved service delivery, commended the Management of FETHI for the progress and improvements attained both in infrastructure and personnel.

Members of the Top Management Commitee also present to receive the accreditors were; the Chairman Medical Advisory Committee (CMAC); Dr. Olagoke Erinomo, Director of Administration; High Chief (Dr) Ogunrinde B.O; Mr Bank-Akinnuoye (Head, Information & Corporate Affairs Dept); among other notable members of staff.